Cape Town – Charlys Bakery

I recently spent a few days in Cape Town on holiday. Here, I am sharing the first of several of the Amazing places I visited during my stay.

Today’s ‘place’ is none other than Charly’s Bakery. Charly’s is to be found in the centre of Cape Town about a block and a half away from the Castle of Good Hope in a old, funky, painted building which used to be a Jewish bookshop!

20180724_093828.jpg
Charlys Bakery

Who doesn’t love a cup of hot, sweet tea or a foaming cappucino and a slice of delicious, melt-in-the-mouth cake, or a beautifully iced muffin or a decorated cookie (all the rage now) or even a pastry? Charly’s has it all and more, much more as I discovered on my early morning visit on the last day of my holiday which fortunately, was their first day in operation again after their holiday break!

Oh, Charly’s is definitely worth a visit. Go hungry – not straight after you have eaten a meal! As there is such a selection, choosing just one is not an easy decision.

You can sit outside on the covered deck or inside the shop and just enjoy the vibe. It’s such a quirky vibe. I just loved it. The vibe of an old building with creaky, wooden floors and high, beautifully decorated ceilings. The vibe of the quirky, but so appropriate, chandelier hanging in the entrance, It’s a beautiful chandelier,  what makes it so special are the miniature teacups hanging off it. I couldn’t resist taking a photo!

The chandelier
Decorated ceiling and chandelier

The vibe of the Artists working and decorating the various cakes and cookies. And they are Artists, those cakes, cookies and muffins are masterpieces, a feast for the eyes and tastebuds too. You can see the Artists hard at work, behind the cake counter, if you are able to take your eyes away from the many, many delectable choices on the counter, that is. Yes, here you can have your cake and eat it too!

Chocolate Petit-four
YUM!

The vibe in the sense of humour that can be found in the various signage both in and outside the store … Hilarious! The best one for me was the sign outside stating … “Do not feed the birds… as they are getting Diabetes!”  Love It!

No worries if you are short on time, you can take a masterpiece or two away with you. You may want to take one for a friend as these are so good, they need to be shared!

So glad I made the stop and was able to enjoy a small piece of the quirky vibe that is Charly’s Bakery. I left with a full heart, full tummy and a Big smile on my face.

Oh, Charly’s Bakery you really are a treat! ❤

Leave a comment